Lyceum –Wattala tops medal tally at ISAC 2018

By | February 26th, 2018 | English, Latest News

Lyceum International School topped the medal tally with 39 Gold medals, while Gateway International School Rajagiriya ended up with 22 Gold medals in the International School Athletics championship concluded at Diyagama yesterday.
Lyceum Wattala sealed a total of 93 medals (39 Gold, 33 Silver and 21 Bronze), while Gateway sealed a total of 65 medals (22 Gold, 18 Silver and 25 Bronze). Lyceum Nugegoda sealed a total of 54 medals (19 Gold, 17 Silver and 18 Bronze).

The day saw several finals, including the 100m, where sprinter Kavindu Rajakaruna of Lyceum Wattala made a dramatic comeback after a foul start in the 200m to win the 100m with a time of 11.30 seconds.
Gateway Colombo sprinter Sadeepa Henderson came back to win the 100m beating Shelinda Jansen with a time of 12.60 seconds after she was beaten by Shelinda in the 200m.

Lyceum Wattala sprinter Sachini Divyanjali sealed the 400m with an impressive time of 57.57 seconds, while Mohammed Aroos of Lyceum Nugegoda won the boys under 20 400m with a time of 49.62 seconds.
Kavindu Bandara of Lyceum Nugegoda impressed by winning the under 18 boys 200m and 400m within a short span of time. He clocked 11.41 seconds in the 100m just 1 hour and 15 minutes after clocking 52.27 seconds to win the 400m.

Age group Champions
Under 20:
Mohammed Aroos (Lyceum-Nugegoda), Udesh Ranasinghe (Gateway Colombo) 28 points each
Under 18:
Kavindu Bandara (Lyceum-Nugegoda), Lahiru Krishan (Lyceum-Wattala), Ginura Gunarathne (Lyceum-Nugegoda), Dimuthu Perera (Lyceum-Panadura) 20 points each
Under 16: Navin Perera (Lyceum Wattala) 30 points
Under 14: Venura de Silva (Gateway Colombo) 26 points
Under 12: Dunitha Pothupitiya (Lyceum Ratnapura) 30 points
Under 20: Randi Cooray and Sharmila Jan of Gateway Colombo (3 points each)
Under 18: Sadeepa Henderson(Gateway Colombo) 28 points
Under 16: Dulyana Suludagoda (Lyceum Nugegoda) 24 points
Under 14: Kenari Gamage (Lyceum Wattala) 26 points
Under 12: Shenali Bastian (Lyceum Wattala) 30 points