Janaka leaps windy 8.13m in Long Jump

By | October 3rd, 2017 | Top Stories

Long Jumper Janaka Prasad Wimalasiri sealed his third major title in three weeks with a wind aided 8.13m leap at the Army Athletics Championship on Wednesday .

Wimalasiri who came under the wings of Cuban coach Luis Miranda won the National Sports Festival as well as National Youth Sports Festival over the last two weekends before coming down to Diyagama for his best leap of his life which was aided by a +3.3 m/s wind.

Meanwhile Javelin Thrower Sampath Ranasinghe beat  two throwers who were dominating the event for long once again with a personal best throw of 78.70m. World championship participant Waruna Lakshan finished second with 76.52m while Olympian Sumedha Ranasinghe finished third.

Hurdler Kaushalya Madushani clocked 01 minute 01.19 seconds in the 400m hurdle to set a new meet record while KK Kumari clocked 37 minutes 35.2 seconds in the 10000m to set a new meet record.

In the other field events of the day, triple jumper Vidusha Lakshani leapt her third 13m plus performance to win her third major title in three weeks after winning the best athletes title in the both the National Sports Festival and Nation Youth Sports Festival .

400m champion Dilip Ruwan was able to seal the 200m win in 21.15 seconds as he did in the National Championship and he is now eyeing the double with a win in his pet event, 400m which he lost at Matara during National Sports Festival.



200: 1. Dilip Ruwan (GW) 21.15 sec, 2. Kalinga Kumarage (SLEME) 21.20 sec , 3.Ajith Premakumara ( GW) 21.35 sec

5000m: 1. RMS Pushpakumara (SLA) 14:44.77 sec, 2. SR Wijewickrama (GW) 14:54.76 sec, 3. Lionel Samarajeewa (SLEME) 14:57.36 sec

High Jump: 1. IU Kumara (SLLI) 2:08m, 2. SC Ekanayake (SLASC) 2.01m,   3. MS Dissanayake (SLEME) 2:01m

Long Jump: 1. Janaka Wimalasiri (SLSC) 8.13m, 2. HG Sampath (SLA) 7.76m, 3. Greshan Dananjaya (SLEME) 7.59m

Javelin Throw: 1. Sampath Ranasinghe 78.20m , 2. Waruna Dayarathne (SLLI) 76.52m , 3. Sumedha Ranasinghe (SLEME) 69.48m


200m: 1. Ruwan Ferdinandez (3(v) SLAWC) 25.05 sec,  2. KS Jayasinghe (4(v) SLAWC) 25.11 sec,  3. Lakshika Sugandhi (2(v) SLAWC) 25.75 sec

10000m: 1. KK Kumari (2(v) SLAWC) 37.35.2 sec,  2. SD Liyanage (4(v) SLAWC) 37:41.9 sec,  3. MS Sewwandi (6(v) SLAWC) 40:18.7 sec

4000m hurdles: 1. Kaushalya Madushan (6(v) SLAWC) 01:01.19 sec, 2. Shayama Dulani (6(v) SLAWC) 01:01.69 sec,  3. ND Wickramasinghe (4(v) SLAWC) 01:01.81 sec

High Jump: 1. MD Herath (6(v) SLAWC)1.52m, 2. SN Fernando (6(v) SLAWC) 1.50m,  3. KS Pitiyawaththa (2(v) SLAWC) 1.50m

Triple Jump: 1. Vidusha Lakshani (6(v) SLAWC) 13.35m , 2. NU Wanasinghe (6(v) SLAWC) 11.50m,  3. SS Jayasinghe (4(v) SLAWC) 8.08m

Discus Throw: 1. AL Dilrukshi (1(v) SLAWC) 34.84m, 2. MN Premathilake (6(v) SLAWC) 24.58m , 3. Rathnasiri (6(v) SLAWC) 24.05m


Leave a Reply